Read and Review Automation Anywhere Documentation

Automation 360

Close Contents

Contents

Open Contents

About multi-user devices

  • Updated: 11/04/2020
    • Automation 360 v.x
    • Manage
    • RPA Workspace

About multi-user devices

A multi-user device is any Windows terminal server device (Windows 2019, Windows 2016, Windows 2012, Windows 10 Enterprise on Azure) which enables multiple users to concurrently log in to a single device.

The multi-user device server enables multiple users to access the same operating system and share the hardware, performing the tasks for each user concurrently. In multi-user devices, bots are deployed using RDP.

Benefits of a multi-user device

A multi-user device ensure that each machine in an organization is fully used, reducing the hardware and software cost by enabling different users to access the same device. Bot Creator users and Bot Runner (attended or unattended) users can be configured on a multi-user device. The multi-user device also provides security and authentication for every user. Each user is assigned unique login credentials for the device and can access only the assigned applications and device settings.
Note: In a multi-user device, if two user sessions with the same device credentials try to deploy a bot, the deployment will fail for one of the user sessions. An appropriate failure message is recorded in the audit log.

Multi-user device in a device pool

A multi-user device can be part of a device pool and the device can be set as the default device for Bot Creator users and Bot Runner (attended and unattended ) users.

Set as default device

As a licensed user, when you log in to a non-default device, you can set that device as your default device. You must have the View and manage ALL device(s) permission if you want to set another device that is not registered by you as your default device: To set it as the default device, follow these steps:
  1. Click the device icon on the top-right of your screen.
  2. Select the Make default device option from the menu.

If you do not have the necessary permission, a message prompt appears, stating that you will lose access to your current default device.

Send Feedback