Read and Review Automation Anywhere Documentation

Automation Anywhere Version 11.3

Close Contents

Contents

Open Contents

Delete user

  • Updated: 5/05/2020
    • 11.3.x
    • Explore
    • Enterprise

Delete user

The process to delete a user from the Control Room varies based on the user role, device status, and schedule status.

Prerequisites

Before you delete a user, ensure the following:

  • There are no active or inactive schedules associated with the user.

    If the user has created schedules that are running or pending for execution, you cannot delete the user.

  • There are no automation processes running on the registered user device.
  • The user is not a member of lockers in the Credential Vault.
  • The user does not own a queue or a device pool.
  • The user is not a part of any device pool.
Attention: When you delete a user from the Control Room, the bots created by the user are not deleted. Instead, the status appears as Inactive for the bots that were uploaded by the user, the entries in the Historical Activity page, the folders created by the user, and so on. However, the user is removed from the User table, and the user's license is released. The device name with which the user is registered is removed from the My devices table.

When a user is deleted, Credential Vault variables associated with the user are deleted.

Procedure

  1. Navigate to the Administration > Users.
    The All users page appears, displaying information about the existing users.
  2. Delete one or more users.
    • To delete a user, hover your mouse over the action menu (vertical ellipsis) and select Delete user.
    • To delete multiple users, select the check boxes and click Delete checked items located above the Users table.
  3. Review the message and confirm the delete action.
    The following messages are shown depending on the assigned license:
    License type Message
    Attended Bot Runner license Do you want to permanently delete the user <username>? This releases the Attended bot runner license allocated to the user. There can be one or more schedules created by this user. If you delete this user, those schedules will not run.
    Unattended Bot Runner license Do you want to permanently delete the user <username>? This releases the Unattended bot runner license allocated to the user and remove the device <devicename> the user has registered with. There can be one or more schedules created by this user. If you delete this user, those schedules will not run.
    Bot Creator license Do you want to permanently delete the user <username>? This releases the bot creator license allocated to the user and remove the device <devicename> the user has registered with. There can be one or more schedules created by this user. If you delete this user, those schedules will not run.
    None There can be one or more schedules created by this user. If you delete this user, those schedules will not run.
  4. Click Close if you see the following message:
    Version 11.3.4
    Unable to delete this user due to one or more of the following reasons 
    1. The user has created some schedules which are running or pending for execution
    2. The user's device is busy running an automation process 
    3. The user has created some credentials in the credential vault 
    4. The user is a member of some lockers in the credential vault 
    5. The user owns a queue or a device pool 
    6. The user's device is part of a device pool 
    To continue, please check the Audit Log details and try again.
  5. Resolve the relevant issue and follow steps 1 to 3.
    Tip: From the Edit user page, set the Allocate a device license to this user? option to None to free up a user license. This ensures that the user can only access the Control Room and not the TaskBots.
Send Feedback