Read and Review Automation Anywhere Documentation

Automation Anywhere Version 11.3

Close Contents

Contents

Open Contents

Deleting a TaskBot

  • Updated: 5/08/2020
    • 11.3.x
    • Explore
    • Enterprise

Deleting a TaskBot

As a Bot Creator with access privileges to particular folders, you might want to delete an existing automation TaskBot.

After deleting a TaskBot, you cannot restore the TaskBot on the Enterprise Client. Before deleting a TaskBot, be sure you no longer have use for that TaskBot.

Delete TaskBot

To delete a TaskBot, follow these steps:

  1. In the My Task List, select the TaskBot.
  2. Delete the TaskBot using one of the following methods:
    • In the Edit menu, select Delete.
    • In the Actions button, select Delete from the drop-down list.
    • Right-click on the TaskBot and select Delete.
  3. In the Delete Task? window, click Yes.

    The TaskBot is removed from the Task List view.

Delete from the server

To delete a TaskBot from the server, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Manage > Repository.
  2. Select the TaskBot(s) from the Server Repository.
  3. Click Delete.

    The TaskBot is removed from the Server Repository > My Tasks list view.

As a best practice, be sure that all tasks are copied to the server as a way of backing up your automation projects. If a deleted TaskBot was copied to the server, you can restore it by copying the server version to the Enterprise Client.

Deleting a file or folder if Version Control is enabled

  • Deleting a file from the local repository: If you have version control enabled, while deleting a TaskBot or a file from the Enterprise Client, apart from confirmation, you are notified that the TaskBot will be deleted locally only.
  • Deleting a file from the server repository: To delete a TaskBot from the server repository, you will have to select it from the relevant folder of the repository.
    • Scheduled bot (Task/File): To delete a bot that is scheduled to run, you must remove it from the schedule.
    • Dependent bot (Task/File): To delete a task that is listed as dependent on some other TaskBot, you must first remove the dependency from the Enterprise Client. You can then upload the TaskBot to the server again to ensure it is not being used as dependency.
    • Version 11.3.4Dependent bot with Production version set: From Version 11.3.4, even if the dependencies are associated with the earlier version of the bot and not with the latest or production version, you can delete the dependent files from the Automation Anywhere Enterprise Client Repository manager.

      Note: Version 11.3.4If you delete the dependent files that were associated with the earlier version and roll the production version back to the same earlier version, the bot deployment might fail.
  • Deleting a Folder: You can delete a folder from the local repository only. The Delete Folder option is disabled if it comprises a TaskBot that has been checked out for edit.
Send Feedback