You can edit a Workload Management (WLM) automation (in
use queue) and update processing time, run-as users, and device pool details.
Before you begin
You must have the following roles and permissions to edit the
workload management automation (in use queue):
| Feature type |
Privileges |
| Activity permissions |
Provide the following permissions for all bots and its
dependencies:
- View my in progress activity
- View my scheduled bots and
Schedule my bots to run
permissions to edit the WLM automation.
- View ALL scheduled
activity from my Folders permission to view
all WLM automations running on bots in any
folder you have access to.
- Manage ALL scheduled
activity from my Folders permission to
pause, resume, stop, or edit WLM automations on bots in your
accessible folders.
- View and manage all scheduled
activity permission (if you do not have
access to the folder which has the WLM bot)
as you are not the WLM automation owner and editing other
user's WLM automation.
- Edit my scheduled activity and
Delete my scheduled activity
permission as you are the WLM automation owner and editing
the WLM automation.
- View my bots to access WLM bot and Run my bots to
edit a WLM automation using the Run bot with
queue option.
- View users and roles basic
information permission when there is a
Run-as user or any user
list.
- Run and schedule permission on the bots
folder permission at folder level to give
access to users on the bot for which the WLM automation is
edited.
Note: The bot must be
linked to the same work item structure as the
queue. |
| User role |
Your custom role must have the following: |
About this task
When you select the View and manage
automation option for the In
use queues, you can edit a paused or active automation to update
details.
When you edit a workload management automation:
- You cannot edit the Bot and
dependencies, Queue,
Run history, and General details.
- The automation ID does not change.
- You can edit any paused or active automation.
Procedure
-
Log in as administrator to the Control Room.
-
Navigate to .
-
Hover over or click the three dots icon next to the queue that is in the
In use status and click View and manage automation.
The queue details are displayed.
-
Click Edit to update the
following details:
-
Processing time: To change the running time,
days, and time slots for the selected queue.
To add a running time, perform the
following steps:
- Click the Add running time button.
A
Running time 1 section
appears.
- Click the Time zone drop-down menu to
specify the time zone for automation execution.
- Use the Days of the week field to select
the specific days to run the automation.
For example, if you
want to run this specific automation only on alternate days
starting from the first day of the week, select
Monday,
Wednesday and
Friday.
- Use the Start time field to enter or
select a start time for the automation.
- Use the End time field to enter or select
an end time.
- Click Add time
button to add another a different Start
time and End time.
If
you have added more than one additional times for the
automation execution, click Remove
time to delete the any additional
items.
- If you have added multiple running times,
click Remove running time button to
delete the specific item.
- Click Save.
Note: Ensure that you do not choose
overlapping time slots for
Start time and
End time.
For example, if you add one
Start time as 1 pm and End
time as 3 pm, then add another Start
time as 2 pm and End time
as 4pm; an error is displayed.
-
Run as: Select
or update the Bot Runner devices for the
selected queue.
Note: If you select the Run
on bot running devices option, you must include all
the run-as users' default devices in the same device pool (which
will be available to select on the Device
pools page).
-
Device pool:
Select or update the device pool for the selected queue.
Note:
- The workload management automation is
processed based on the order of the automation queue. If the
device pool has priority-based deployment, then the
automation will be processed at the end of the
priority.
- If you do not change the device pool, then
the order of the automation queue does not impact the
automation deployment.
-
Click Save.
The existing automation is stopped and automation details are
updated immediately.
Note:
- When you stop the existing automation, it does not
impact bots which have been deployed
on the Bot Runners.
- When you edit the automation, the audit log entries
are recorded on the page with the Update
automation event type. You can view the old and new
automation values in the audit log entries.
-
During the execution of the WLM automation, bots are not deployed when Bot Runners
are mapped one-on-one with their default (single user) devices with
Run on bot running devices option
selected and one or more devices in the selected device pool is
disconnected.